Footy Mail Results Find a Club Contact Us

Golden Grove

Mascot/Nickname: Kookaburras
Grades: D3, D3R, D8, D8R, U18R
Established: 1995
Joined SAAFL: 1996
Former Name(s):
Premierships: 03 (D6), 08 (D5)
Phone: 0439 434 034
President: Ian Graham - 0401 227 079
Senior Coach: Ben Armstrong - 0438 800 813
Football Director: Stephen McGregor - 0400 211 645
Delegate: Brett Eldworthy - 0419 030 251
Secretary: Kate Grandey - 0439 434 034
Website: Click here

Club History

The Golden Grove Football Club is a very young club established in 1995 with six junior teams, which has now grown to twelve. The senior club commenced in 1997, with A & B Grades competing in A7. The inaugural year augured well for the future with both grades reaching the Grand Final and our A grade co-captain, Phil Attenborough receiving the Association Medal. The C Grade was included in 1998, and three senior teams remain strongly competitive to date.

The Club was formed in 1995 to cater for six junior teams ranging from Under 8 to Under 15, a number which has now grown to twelve teams. In 1996 it fielded an Under 17 team in the SAAFL and then two senior teams in 1997. It's first premiership was won by the "B" grade in 2002, but the "A" grade followed suit the year after. The Club has developed quickly and anticipates a new oval and clubrooms during 2004-05. The record holder for games played is Brett Elsworthy who in 2002 became the first player to reach 100 games.

A History of the South Australian Amateur Football League 1911-1994, Fred Bloch © 1995