Names: 1915-67 Abattoirs
1968- Pooraka
Affiliations: 1920 YMCA & Suburban
1921-68 North Adelaide District
1969-75 Central District
1976-77 Norwood North
1978-95 S.A.F.A.
1996- S.A.A.F.L.
Grounds: 1915-69 Abattoirs
1969- Lindholm Park



Navy blue, red trim


Navy blue, red bib & red, white & blue bull’s head on chest.

SAAFL Premierships: D2 1997, 2001
D4 2010
D9N 1997
D2R 1997, 99
D4R 2010
U17G 1998
SAAFL Medallists: D2 1997 Michael A Carter
D9N 1998 Timothy Hill
2000 Paul Frick
D2R 1997 Vincent J Cullinan
1999 Colin Kirkwood
2000 Colin Kirkwood
2001 Darrin Wilson
U17G 1998 Anthony Didak

SAAFL Grades/Divisions:


P2(A2)(5), P2R(A2R)(2), A7(2)


D2(1), D2R(1), D9N(1), U17G(2)

1998 D1(9), D1R(8), D9N(8), U17G(1) 1999 D2(3), D2R(1), D9N(4)
2000 D2(4), D2R(3), D9N(8) 2001 D2(1), D2R(3), D9N(5)
2002 D1(8), D1R(4), D9N(3), U17N(8) 2003 D1(9), D1R(5), D8(6)
2004 D2(9), D2R(10) 2005 D3(3), D3R(6), D10N(5)
2006 D3(9), D3R(10) 2007 D4(4), D4R(7), C4(9)
2008 D4(4), D4R(9), C4(8) 2009 D4(4), D4R(2), C4(4)
2010 D4(1), D4R(1), C4(7) 2011 D3(6), D3R(8), C3(7), U18B(7)
2012 D3(10), D3R(7), C2(9)
Pooraka began life as the Abattoirs Football Club and spent most of its early years in the North Adelaide District Association. The senior teams went into recess in the late ‘50s but was revived in 1964 when it played in the A2 Grand Final. It then struggled in A1, but the rapid development of the district led to the name change to Pooraka in 1968 and the development of Lindholm Park once the drought conditions eased and turfing the ground recently acquired by the Council was possible. When the North Adelaide District combined with the East Torrens Association to form Norwood-North in 1969, the Club opted to join the C.D.F.A. and played at A1 level, then joined Norwood-North in 1976, playing in the A2 Grand Final and so earning promotion to A1 under coach Graham Durbridge.

When the S.A.F.A. formed in 1978 Pooraka became an inaugural member, and since that time it has become one of the strongest metropolitan football clubs. It completely dominated S.A.F.A. in the latter years of that association, winning six Division 1 premierships between ’84 and ’94. When S.A.F.A. folded in 1996 the Club joined the S.A.A.F.L in the second division of the Premier League as it was then called, winning the Division 2 premiership in 1997. It found Division 1 tough in 1998 and returned to Division 2, but fought its way back to the top in 2002 after winning the Div. 2 flag in 2001.

Club record-holder is Johannes “Yopie’ Vandermoer with 421 games.

Thanks To Our Major Sponsors